Words to my sister, my Beloved Brown Girl Extraordinaire, Karyn Washington…

Words to my sister, my Beloved Brown Girl Extraordinaire, Karyn Washington…Image

My heart is aching all because of KARYN WASHINGTON !!! You’ve been a friend of mine since middle school. We first met at Greater Grace Christian Academy. Andrea introduced us! We didn’t have any classes together in high school but we would usually catch the same bus home after school, laughing and acting a fool. At GGCA our beautiful brown faces were just two of the very few that would walk those halls.

I can’t recall ever seeing you without a smile on your face. Even when I’ve seen you upset (LOL) you still had a little smirk. Ha! I could never take you seriously when you tried to scold someone. I can’t remember if it was your little sister or cousin, but while we were walking home from school you fussed at them for something they had gotten in trouble for. But it was funny! I tried so hard not to let them see me snickering while you scolded them, but I just couldn’t help it! I’m like Karyn put some base in your voice! LOL Nonetheless, laughing with you will always be a great memory. It’s like all you had to do was to show up and show your teeth. Your smile was so big and your face was so beautiful! You were radiant and that would prompt infectious laughter. We’d laugh ourselves silly.

I remember I’d cover my mouth when i laughed. I had just gotten braces and I wasn’t quite comfortable yet. I was the epitome of an awkward little black girl. You told me I could be your brace face buddy. I think that was the first time if ever heard the term “brace face” !!! Lol & it certainly wasn’t the last either. We’d talk a lot about school and other silly stuff that probably didn’t matter much, but you gave me so much comfort. Now that I think about it, that amazes me. We were only in middle school and there you were inspiring me and teaching me to love my brown self in the most subtle ways. It is no surprise that you would go on to do such amazing things. May “For Brown Girls” (FBG) continue to thrive. That will forever be your brand, your movement, and your legacy! You’re amazing and even at such the young and tender age of 22 you’ve touched the lives of many all over the world. You inspire me and so many other people so much more than you could’ve ever imagined. I wish you could’ve seen the true magnitude of that.

When I look at you I see a reflection of myself and most certainly that is why this hurts so badly. From now on I’ll forever remember your big beautiful smile, your charm, ambition, professionalism, entrepreneurship, confidence, humility, your drive, and your beautiful Brown Skin. That is what I’ll choose to remember… because to be honest, I’m a bit angry with you. Indeed I’m being selfish, but my heart is devastated- yet, because I know a tad bit about what you were going through I can understand. I’m guilt tripping because I wish I could’ve been there for you a little bit more.  I’m so sorry, but I can’t help but to think that with just a little bit more time or a little less distance, proximity would’ve allowed me to make, maybe the slightest difference…. Forgive me!

Your MOTHER raised you so well. She’s been proud of you and I know she’s happy to have you by her side now. I’m so blessed to have met you and I’m so grateful that there is a God so merciful and graceful enough to supply us with what we need just when we need it- And so like I told you the last time we shared words, I love you, you’ve been in my prayers, and God is with you even in your darkest hour- and I’m most certain that He was last night. I’m glad you have found peace and happiness. You deserve it. God bless you, your family, and friends. You are Loved and Missed my beautiful brown girl extraordinaire! Thank you for being kind. Thank you for sharing your dream. Thank you for your courage and all the love you’ve poured out of your soul. Now you’ll receive divine restoration- 10 fold! (tears)

To learn more about Karyn or to support the For Brown Girls Movement or the Dark Skin Red Lip Project visit http://www.forbrowngirls.com and http://www.darkskinredlip.com

#fbg #forbrowngirls #iLoveMyShade #DarkSkinRedLip #DarkSkinRedLipProject  #colorism #selfLove #philanthropist #KarynWashington #BrownGirlExtraordinaire

10013651_10203888499075562_7391207490823133245_n

41 thoughts on “Words to my sister, my Beloved Brown Girl Extraordinaire, Karyn Washington…”

    1. I will always love you. I can’t stop thinking about the good times we had.
      RIP to Karyn Washington. You were a great person.!

    2. I appreciate your feedback and your reflection! At this time I’d like to encourage you to spread the joy of her life. Karyn is smiling now harder than ever! Imagine that big beautiful smile!

      1. She was my first love, I wish I had more time with her. Life is such a beautiful thing that we take for granted. We all lost a beautiful person. I miss her and I’m regretful for all the time we missed.

  1. This was beautiful. I truly am sorry for your loss. I have suffered from depression and I Love lost a Love one too. I pray that you find peace in knowing that she is now at peace…. ONE LOVE

  2. I am shaken. I’ve only chatted with her online, over our love of empowering black women to see the beauty in all of us, and it was humbling. She was such a special human being. She will be missed. :(

  3. What a beautiful tribute. I pray your heart heals and guilt is released as one cannot control the actions of another. You are Larynx friend which means her legacy and love will continue through you because of your love for her and the experiences you shared with her. RIP baby girl. You came. You Saw. You completed your purpose. Many of us are better and more alive because of your presence here. RIP.

  4. What a beautiful tribute. I pray your heart heals and guilt is released as one cannot control the actions of another. You are her friend which means her legacy and love will continue through you because of your love for her and the experiences you shared with her. RIP baby girl. You came. You Saw. You completed your purpose. Many of us are better and more alive because of your presence here. RIP.

  5. What a beautiful dedication to someone who seems ot have been a truly beautiful person inside and out. It saddens me that I am only learning of Karen now but I know her impact is one definitely worthy of becoming her legacy.

  6. Aliyah, I’m so sorry to hear about Karyn…it seemed like she had an irreplaceable influence on you, and you are an AMAZING woman. Her spirit and love and legacy live on in you and others whose lives she has touched xx

  7. Aliyah, I just noticed on another page that you wrote “I’m guilt tripping because I wish I could’ve been there for you a little bit more. I’m so sorry, but I can’t help but to think that with just a little bit more time or a little less distance, proximity would’ve allowed me to make, maybe the slightest difference…. Forgive me!” – See more at: http://madamenoire.com/419330/karyn-washington-founder-empowering-site-brown-girls-commits-suicide/#sthash.ezcH9zu3.dpuf I just wanted to ask that you don’t feel guilt. Clearly you were a good friend and close companion and you can do more by continuing Karyn’e legacy. Feeling guilty will only continue to make you sad, as though you could have altered the circumstances in some way. Having read about Karyn’s work and who she was, I don’t believe she would want you to be feeling this way. Instead, just know that you were there for her when you were able, and know that she is in a place of rest and comfort. Do continue to celebrate her life and the joy you shared with her. I’m a stranger, but just wanted to reach out xxxxxxxxxxx

  8. Thank you for your words–I have a beautiful brown daughter whom I love dearly. I want her to know that she is perfect as God has made her and hopes she shows patience with the uneducated, pity for the ignorant, and no tolerance for fools! But at no time allow their insanity to touch her spirit. May our little sister rest in peace…

    1. Thank you for telling her story with such class and eloquence. This is definitely one of the most humbling, & most sophisticated commentaries that I’ve seen surrounding Kay’s passing thus far. This is much appreciated. God bless!

  9. My brother recommended I might like this website. He was totally right. This post truly made my day. You cann’t imagine simply how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks! eedkbecffegf

Leave a Reply

